Audiobook Update

Hild by Nicola GriffithI gave up on Hild. Again. I found the early chapters about her childhood fascinating, and I’m looking forward to the Kickass Abbess years (is that blasphemous? She was pretty kickass, and not just for a nun). But the Extended Road Trip of Political Paranoia with the king has painfully slowed the pacing. Maybe I’ll go back to the ebook and skim ahead a few (dozen) chapters. I should like this book. I should love this book. Why don’t I like this book??? It’s starting to kind of piss me off.

Sleeping Beauty by Judith IvoryMy Author Crush on Judith Ivory continued with Sleeping BeautyΒ β€” a bit darker and more melancholy in atmosphere and tone than Indiscretion or Beast, but still very much Ivory’s distinctive, seductive voice. I have Black Silk queued up on Scribd, and Untie My Heart lingering in the TBR somewhere. I might need another listen to The Proposition to go full circle – but I might have to skip that damn ending.

The Winter Sea by Susanna KearsleyI kicked off my Susanna Kearsley Binge and why in the hell did I have book anxiety over these??? I was leery of the woo-woo stuff, but holy cow, Kearsley does it exactly right. I started with a traditional read of The Shadowy Horses, which I’ve been sitting on for years β€”it was one of my very first ebook purchases. It was goooood. I bought the audio version too (of course).

The Firebird by Susanna KearsleyAnd then I listened to The Winter Sea and The FirebirdΒ β€” and they were everything everyone else said. Stunning. Characters, world-building, pacing, everything. I kept thinking how “cinematic” the storytelling was, and I don’t mean that it sounded like a screenplay β€” which is the exact same reaction I have to every Mary Stewart book. One notable audio thing: the narrator’s accent for Nicola in Firebird sounded exactly like Lady Mary on Downton Abbey. Every single vowel. The Rose Garden is in the queue.

The House at Tyneford by Natasha SolomonsI’m now listening to The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons. There’s not a lot of subtlety or emotional investment yet β€” just the expected upstairs/downstairs conflicts. It could be the first-person POV from the young and spoiled heroine is what’s making it feel shallow so far, but hopefully as she matures the intensity of the story will pick up.

For My Lady's Heart by Laura KinsaleThe Kinsale binge is proceeding as well – I liked For My Lady’s Heart, but it required some Hild-esque heavy listening (is that A Thing?) and I need a rather lengthy breather before starting Shadowheart. My Sweet Folly and Lessons in French are in the queue; Uncertain Magic is screaming at me from my wishlist, but it’s also triggering the Book Anxiety (because of the woo-woo stuff), so I might need some reassurance on that one.

One thought on “Audiobook Update

  1. I read THE WINTER SEA for #bathtubreading last year and it was so wondrously good. I’m glad to hear that the audio is good b/c I’m going to get it and listen to it and revel in the story once again!

Leave a Reply

