The 2014 Page O’ Lists

In no particular order….

Favorite historicals:

2014_Historicals

Fave contemporaries:

2014_Contemporaries

Favorite inspies:

2014_Inspies

Favorite non-Heyer/Kinsale audiobooks*:

2014_Audio

  • The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, narrated by Frazer Douglas
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra
  • The Indiscretion and Beast by Judith Ivory, narrated by Barbara Rosenblatt
  • Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, narrated by Anna Massey
  • Katherine by Anya Seton, narrated by Wanda McCaddon
  • Longbourn by Jo Baker, narrated by Emma Fielding (curious whether I would have like this as much as a traditional read….)
  • Classics narrated by Juliet Stevenson (all of Austen, Jane Eyre, North and South)

(*Update on The Heyer Project coming soon; Kinsale audiobooks are all ♥♥♥)

DNFs:

Audiobooks to avoid:

  • Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brian, narrated by Simon Vance (next time I’m going with the other narrator)
  • Gentle Rogue by Johanna Lindsey, narrated by Laural Merlington (DNF’d the audio, finished the ebook; added to my never-again narrators, along with Anne Flosnick)

Still in the TBR Because BOOK ANXIETY:

Author Binges:

  • Mary Balogh
  • Tamara Morgan
  • Laura Florand
  • Kate Noble
  • Teri Wilson
6 thoughts on “The 2014 Page O’ Lists

  1. Darlynne says:

    Great list and kudos for assembling such detail. I’ll be interested to learn what you thought of listening to HILD. I have been eyeing the audio book myself, but have this inordinate fear of being bored, even though reviews of the written book indicate the opposite.

    Thanks for so many good recommendations this past year. I look forward to what comes next.

  2. I LOVED your list … and not only because our tastes coincide on so many of these books (also, thank you for MissB’s mention); it’s so succinct and yet your sensibility comes through so beautifully! Wishing you a great new reading year! You make me want to read all of Teri Wilson too; and listen to audiobooks I wouldn’t normally try. 🙂

  3. P. S. Am reading SWEET DISORDER now and even from chpt. 1 (because I haven’t gotten very far, because I’m rereading Duran’s DUKE OF SHADOWS because reasons), I love it. And I loved IN FOR A PENNY; it was #bathtubreading for me, one of the highlights of my bathtubreading year.

      • I think for me it’s just some kind of bizarro existential book angst: unexplained feelings of book dread … also, like you, what if I hate it? Or it tires me out? Or, embarrassing I know, what if it’s long? Which is why I tend to read category romance …

Leave a Reply

