My Bookshelf of Actual History with Little or No Smooching – The Brit Edition

I bought myself a few Mother’s Day presents. Because Santa didn’t bring me anything from my wish list.

These arrived on my doorstep this week….

Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Fashion in Detail - V&A MuseumWhat People Wore When - Melissa Leventon (Editor)The Impossible Life of Mary Benson by Rodney Bolt

The obsession started with watching the (wildly inaccurate) movie Elizabeth with Cate Blanchett. Then I found the book I, Elizabeth by Rosalind Miles at the library, and then I discovered Jean Plaidy, and the rest is…um…history (sorry, couldn’t resist).

The new additions will take their places of honor alongside….

Nineteenth Century Fashion in Detail - V& Museum Lost Mansions of Mayfair by Oliver Bradbury London: Life In Maps by Peter Whitfield

The English Town by Mark Girouard Royal Palaces of Tudor England by Simon Thurley The Regency Country House: From the Archives of Country Life by John Martin Robinson

And I read history without pretty pictures too!

Disclaimer: I’m not a trained historian, so I am in no way qualified to judge the veracity or scholarship of any of these books or authors. I’m just an average History Geek looking for great reads that tell (or show!) a great story and compel me to learn even more.

Must-reads….Our Tempestuous Day: A History of Regency England by Carolly Erickson

 Worth reading…

 Meh….

How to Create the Perfect Wife: Britain's Most Ineligible Bachelor and his Enlightened Quest to Train the Ideal Mate by Wendy MooreAt the top of the TBR queue….

Lingering somewhere in the TBR queue….

Fanny and Stella: The Young Men Who Shocked Victorian England by Neil McKennaAt the top of the wishlist….

On the “someday maybe” wishlist….

There’s always room for more – I want any and all recommendations!

Leave a Reply

