One-Quote Review: Giving It Up by Amber Lin

  • Giving It Up by Amber LinTitle: Giving It Up
  • Author: Amber Lin
  • Series: N/A
  • Genre(s): Contemporary, Suspense
  • Publisher:  Loose Id,  June 2012
  • Source: Amazon, $7.99 ebook (now $6.39)
  • Length: 308 pages
  • Trope(s): Angst, Guilt Issues, Single Mother, Gangsters
  • Quick blurb: Struggling single mother gets more than she bargains for when she hooks up with a gangster’s brother.
  • Quick review: Not quite what I expected, but great writing and a fantastic single mother heroine.
  • Grade: B+

I wanted him for my own, and that wanting was like a chant in my head. A greedy, futile chant.

I wasn’t expecting all the suspense-y stuff, but I loved the depth of the characterizations – in particular, the actually truly realistic and believable single mother heroine. And her kid is not a plot moppet prop. I know, right???

Leave a Reply

