Audiobook Angst: Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale

Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale (audiobook)

  • Title: Flowers from the Storm
  • Author:  Laura Kinsale
  • Narrator: Nicholas Boulton
  • Series: N/A
  • Genre(s): Historical
  • Publisher: Avon, 1992
  • Source: Purchased ($2.99 ebook, $3.49 audiobook)
  • Length: 565 pages (19 hours)
  • Trope(s): Sheltered Spinster, Dukish Duke, Evil In-Laws, ANGST ANGST AND MORE ANGST (did I mention the ANGST?)
  • Quick blurb: Sheltered Quaker woman feels called to help a notorious (but brilliant) duke when she finds him wrongfully imprisoned in her uncle’s asylum.
  • Quick review: Go away and leave me alone. I’m still swooning.
  • Grade: A- for story, A+ for narration

 “It was an Opening,” she whispered.

 “It was…you,” he said.

OH. MY. GOD. You people weren’t kidding about this book. Good lord. It’s going to take me months to recover my equilibrium, and god help whatever books I’m reading and listening to next.

Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale (original 1992 cover)The minus on the story grade is for the slight lag in the pacing after the [NO SPOILERS], and I wondered about Maddie being called “Duchess” instead of “Your Grace,” and I couldn’t figure out why her father didn’t play more of a role in her spiritual conundrum, but then I had to replay the last chapter three times because, you know, OH. MY. GOD.

[Gimme a sec, I need to swoon again: *~*SWOON*~* <thud>]

Sorry, where was I? With the wrong narrator, this audiobook would have been a disaster of epic proportions. Nicholas Boulton captured Jervaulx’s anger and anguish — and Maddy’s longing and confusion — so bloody brilliantly I had my headphones on all night for four nights straight. And I stayed up until 3 o’clock this morning and I don’t care if I fall asleep at my desk and drool on my keyboard.

These characters, and all their lovely, glorious angst, will live with me — and I can’t think of much higher praise for an author than that.

5 thoughts on “Audiobook Angst: Flowers from the Storm by Laura Kinsale

  1. Thanks for this fantastic review. Laura Kinsale is my all time favorite historical romance author and after hearing the sample (so awesome) and reading this I want to “read” this for the 6th or 7th (could be more, I can’t remember) time!

  2. *happy sigh* I adore FLOWERS FROM THE STORM, soooo glad you loved it! I recommend Prince of Midnight and FOR MY LADY’S HEART next! I really do have to thank you for your review. I’ve just finished reading a few of her lacklustre titles (SEIZE THE FIRE and HIDDEN HEART) so it’s good to be reminded of how awesome she can be.

  3. Your review said everything about FftS that I could never put into words :D This was one of the first historicals I read, and I don’t think I ever got over how *@$^^)!^)!^#* good and deliciously angsty it was, even to the extent that I have yet to read the rest of her backlist. I just read (and now listen to) FftS over and over and over……..
    I’m going to have to dive in fairly soon, however, because her entire backlist is being turned into audiobooks, all narrated by Nicholas Boulton! Two more are out already and I CANNOT WAIT to begin the ebook/audiobook binge :)

Leave a Reply

