One-Quote Review: My Fair Concubine by Jeannie Lin

My Fair Concubine by Jeannie Lin

  • Title: My Fair Concubine
  • Author: Jeannie Lin
  • Category/Series: Harlequin Historical; Tang Dynasty, Book 3
  • Genre(s): Historical (9th century China)
  • Publisher: Harlequin, June 2012
  • Source: Provided by the publisher via NetGalley ($4.49 ebook)
  • Length: 288 pages
  • Trope(s): Extreme Makeover, In Disguise, Unrequited Love, Beta Hero
  • Quick blurb: Stern soldier trains orphaned teahouse girl to take his runaway sister’s place as a political bride.
  • Quick review: I swooned. And then I got weepy. And then I swooned again.
  • Grade: A

He’d trained her in calligraphy to teach her patience and discipline while using the same techniques to try to control his own emotions. He’d buried them deep and only allowed them to show in one place.

In the forms, she could see the gathered memories of their days together. She could see the hundred different want he thought of her. The flowing curves of wistfulness, the tight control of denial. It was all there. Anger, hope, longing. Desire.

Huh? What? Oh, sorry – I was swooning again.

This was my first Jeannie Lin. Now I own her entire backlist and I pre-ordered her next one. I think this means I have an Author Crush. In a totally non-creepy, non-stalkerish kind of way, of  course.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Reading With Me Vicariously: Status Updates

July 27 – 10%:

Chapter one, and the hero already gets cold tea thrown in his face. This is a good sign.

July 28 – 25%:

First writing lesson = *swoon*

July 28 – 42%

I wish the slumber party in my living room would actually slumber so I could READ MY BOOK because I THINK THERE MIGHT BE SOME SMOOCHING SOON.

July 29 – 71%:

*~*happy sigh*~*

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

NOTE: This inspired an idea – Pygmalion/My Fair Lady Theme Week coming soon!

One thought on “One-Quote Review: My Fair Concubine by Jeannie Lin

Leave a Reply

